VietNam 2004

5th Rencontres du Vietnam

Particle Physics and Astrophysics


August 5 to August 11, 2004

Sous le Haut Patronage de Monsieur Jacques Chirac, Président de la République française


New views on the Universe

Updated 20/7/04

The Rencontres du Vietnam began with a meeting in Hanoi on Particle Physics and Astrophysics in December 1993; a second one was held in Saigon in October 1995. The third Rencontres du Vietnam, devoted to Condensed Matter Physics was held in Hanoi in January 1999. The fourth Rencontres du Vietnam, entitled Physics at Extreme Energies, was also held in Hanoi in July 2000.

The aim of the Rencontres has been to extend the successful international collaboration of Europe, Russia, Japan and the United States in these rapidly evolving fields to the emerging Pacific rim countries.

The number of countries represented and the presence of leading scientists has emphasised the importance which the international community places on scientific links with Vietnam.

As a natural continuation of this series, two parallel conferences, one on particle physics and the other on astrophysics, will be organised in 2004. This section concerns the astrophysics conference. For general information concerning the two conferences, you should click here; the home site of the Vth Rencontres du Vietnam is

Go to:

Committees Secretariat
Registration/hotel reservation form Astrophysics Scientific Programme new 20/07/04
Abstract submission (parallel AND plenary sessions) Visa application form
Astrophysics abstracts received (new 20/07/04)
Instructions for authorsClick here to type text for Link (new 14/07/04)

International Advisory Committee:

Katsushi Arisaka (USA), Marcel Arnould (Belgium), Pierre Binetruy (France), Catherine Cesarsky (ESO), Françoise Combes (France), Bill Forman (USA), Stavros Katsanevas (France), Ofar Lahav (UK), Andrei Linde (USA), Franco Pacini, (Italy), Bruce Partridge (USA), Jacques Paul (France), Jim Peebles (USA), Hubert Reeves (France), Joe Silk (UK), Trinh Xuan Thuan (USA), Gabriele Veneziano (CERN), Laurent Vigroux (France), Trevor Weekes (USA), Xiang Ping Wu (China)

Local Organising Committee:

Nguyen Ai Viet (Hanoi), Nguyen Anh Ky (Hanoi), Nguyen Mong Giao (Ho Chi Minh), Nguyen Gia Lap (Hanoi), Nguyen Van Hieu - Chairman (Hanoi), Vo Van Thuan (Hanoi)

Scientific Programme Committee

Reza Ansari (IN2P3, France), Peter von Balmoos (CESR, France), Murat Boratav (LPNHE,France), Fabien Cavalier (LAL, France), Gabriel Chardin (CEA, France), Ludwik Celnikier (Meudon Observatory, France), David Elbaz (CEA, France), Yannick Giraud-Héraud (College de France and APC Paris7), Francois Hammer (Meudon Observatory, France), Jean Kaplan (College de France and APC Paris7), Yannick Mellier (IAP, France), Robert Mochkovitch (IAP, France), Guenter Sigl (IAP, France), Jean Tran Thanh Van (Orsay University, France), Marie Treyer (Marseille University, France), Sylvie Vauclair (Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées, France)

The Astrophysics conference secretary is:

  Ms. Sabine KIMMEL , Observatoire de Paris Meudon, Place Jules Janssen , 92195 Meudon, France ; Tel : 33 (0)1 45077414; Fax : 33 (0)1 45077709 email:  

Scientific programme as of 20/07/04

(still subject to minor changes)

Thursday, August 5: arrival of participants in Hanoi

Friday, August 6:

Saturday, August 7:

Sunday, August 8: